Searching for The Perfect Cupcake in Toronto…

Hi everyone,

I’m trying my best to keep updated on a regular basis now. I’m still trying to balance everything between my Admin full time job to blogging and my family & more. Lol! I hope that you haven’t missed my sweet cravings too much while I was away. If you did, then this blog entry will be filled with extra sweetness for my readers.

With so many choices of sweets & desserts, one of my fave go to desserts are cupcakes. I don’t know what it is about cupcakes that always satisfy my sweet cravings, but maybe it could be the balance of cake and sweetness of the frosting on top that does it. I always love simple cupcakes, but I always also enjoy trying new and creative cupcakes that bakers have to offer.

In Toronto, there are many cupcake shops and dessert shops that you could find a cupcake to choose from yet finding the perfect or right cupcake shop can be a challenge. With so many selection of cupcake shops to choose from, it is sometimes difficult to distinguish which shop will meet your expectations. I myself have tried several cupcake shops in order to find the right cupcake shop for me and after many attempts of finding a good cupcake, surprisingly I have discovered 2 places that I recommend: Pursuit of Frosting and cupcake food truck: Curbside Bliss. I have decided to feature both of these delicious specialty cupcake shop & food truck in this blog as it was too hard to choose between the two…:)

Let’s start with: Pursuit of Frosting, who originally started out with her cupcakery truck called: ‘Pretty Sweet’. The Pursuit of Frosting is known for their elaborate and beautiful wedding, birthday and other specialty cakes as well as her cupcakes and other pastries including creme brulee, cookies, brownies and cake slices. With her success from her cupcakery truck she found a permanent location on Eglinton west of Bathurst. I been searching and hearing about her delicious cupcakes from her cupcakery truck for awhile now and when I found out that she had a shop that it was time for me to try her cupcakes.

A few weeks ago, I was finally able to check out her permanent store location and it was a cute little shop close to the intersection of Eglinton and Bathurst. Despite the shop being small, it had a few tables to eat and there were many beautiful display of samples of cakes on one side and the main display consisted of more cakes and cupcakes. At the back there was an area where they made the actual cakes and cupcakes. It was a friendly atmosphere inside the shop where I was greeted by one of the staff who worked there. Check out below a few photos of the cupcake shop!

May 2, 2015 - Storefront Logo

I ended up picking up two cupcakes: Coconut and Red Velvet to share one with my friend. I was hoping for more flavours available at the store as it was only a limited amount of flavours. Thou they do take orders if you would like other flavours and it would have to requested in advance. I had the Coconut cupcake and it was simply delicious! I was so happy to finally have tried her cupcakes! It was definitely worth the wait!

I love the fact that the cake part of the cupcake was light and fluffy! I don’t have eat too many flavours with Coconut, but I really enjoyed it and even loved the frosting top of the cupcake, which wasn’t too sweet. It was just perfect amount of sweetness as usually some cupcakes the frosting is too sweet and heavy. Overall, definitely would be coming back to try more cupcakes! I also hope to finally try some of the cupcakes from the Pretty Sweet mobile cupcake truck as well in the summer time!

May 2, 2015 - Cupcakes

My next recommendation is a mobile gourmet bakery truck called, Curbside Bliss, where they bring you delectable, baked-from-scratch goodness from their mobile dessert kitchen. Normally, you wouldn’t think a food truck would be able to provide a delicious sweet pastry, but with food trucks being so popular now and all types of food trucks are producing amazing foods just as good as restaurants nowadays. It is probably not a surprise that I have chosen a food truck as a recommendation for the perfect cupcake.

Curbside Bliss owner and baker is Cynthia Pacheco where she was Canada’s first Mobile Cupcake Kitchen. Her elegant food truck cruises around the GTA for those wanting a sweet fix. She has over 30 flavours to offer and it changes on a daily basis. Cynthia does all her baking in her truck. So I thought that was quite impressive coming from a truck. She also does private events/functions. Be sure to keep an eye out for her sweet truck in your neighbourhood or book with Cynthia for a private event for her curbside bliss truck to be there!

The first time I tried Curbside Bliss was at a summer concert event last year that I was attending and I just happen to find this cute blue truck for cupcakes. I was quite excited as it is rare to find sweets for a food truck. Curbside Bliss cupcakes did not disappoint at all, I loved it! I had the Strawberry Cupcake. It was a perfect cupcake especially with the heat that day. I was quite impressed with the fluffy cake and the sweet frosting was just not overly sweet. The presentation of the cupcake was very neat and professionally done. I definitely look forward this summer to finding Curbside Bliss to fill my sweet cravings again!!

Curbside Bliss - Cupcake Truck

Curbside Bliss - Cupcake

So if you are searching for the perfect cupcake, don’t look any further but my 2 recommendations – cupcake bakery shop: the Pursuit of Frosting & cupcakery truck: Curbside Bliss. I promise you that they will not disappoint you with their sweet fluffy & sweet toppings of goodness to satisfy your sweet cravings!

I’m actually heading for my tropical vacation later on this week to Cuba and maybe I will bring back to share some of my delicious & sweet desserts in Cuba.

For now, I leave you with thoughts of a light & fluffy sweetness feeling in a cupcake size. Until my next sweet adventure, searching in Cuba and Toronto….

-Sweet B.

*************************************************************************************************

For more information on the Pursuit of Frosting, please check out their website:

www.thepursuitoffrosting.com

You can also follow them on Twitter, and Instagram for their latest updates:

Twitter – @EatSmileRepeat_ and on Instagram – @thepursuitoffrosting

For her cupcake truck, Pretty Sweet:

Website: Pretty Sweet and Twitter – @prettysweet_to

*************************************************************************************************

For more information on the Curbside Bliss, please check out their website:

www.curbsideblisscupcakes.com

You can also follow them on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram for their latest updates:

Facebook – Curbside Bliss, follow her on Twitter – @CurbsideBliss and on Instagram – @curbsidebliss

*************************************************************************************************

 

 

Leave a Reply

