Discovering Simple Cuban Desserts

Hola everyone!!!

It’s been a few weeks now since I have returned from my tropical trip to Cayo Santa Maria, Cuba with my sisters! Sorry for the late update as I been trying to catch up on everything back at home since I been away on my vacation. I am working on my next proper sweet entry for those who are looking for some sweet treats for the summer locally in Toronto and there are more surprises to come! So stayed tuned, thanks for being so patient with me. πŸ™‚

I will now share with you some of my simple Cuban desserts while I was on my Cuba vacation. But if you haven’t been to Cuba, I definitely recommend going there at least once as my vacation to Cuba was very relaxing with spending lots of my days by the many large pools at the resort as well as relaxing on the beautiful beach in Cayo Santa Maria. If you haven’t heard or know much about Cayo Santa Maria, it is an island off of Cuba’s north central coast in the Jardines del Rey archipelago (a chain or collection of islands). The island is linked by road and bridge to the town of CaibariΓ©n on the main island. Cayo Santa Maria is well known for its white sand beaches and turquoise waters. Definitely a great place to relax and unwind with breathtaking views of the beaches! Check out a few photos that I took from my vacation.

Beach View from the pool

Beautiful View from my balcony

While I was in beautiful Cayo Santa Maria, Cuba, there were plenty of food for me to enjoy each day. Every culture’s cuisine has it’s own unique sweet treats and Cuba is certainly no exception. Many of the most popular Cuban desserts feature a milky, creamy consistency for a perfect ending to their meal because some of their food is spicy. As well Cuban desserts always feature at least one type of fruit as with their tropical climate they grow a wide variety of fruits and vegetables.

At the buffet, one of the dessert options is a beautiful arrangement of fresh fruits of pineapple, papaya, and watermelon. See photo below:

At one of the a la carte restaurants that we went was called: Feugo, it was their Gourmet type of restaurant. They served my fave dessert there, it may look small, but it was the perfect bite to end the meal. It was a small pastry type of cookie with pineapple, chocolate and cream on top and drizzled on top was a sweet raspberry sauce that made the dessert pop with flavour. Loved it!! I wanted seconds lol!! It was a beautiful dessert as well. I thought that they did an excellent presentation of it. See photo below:

Lastly, at the buffet that they always had a beautiful assortment of mini tarts and cakes with cream on top, which was simply delicious! I love the small simple desserts that this resort provided as it’s not easy to just have one as you always keep coming back for more these sweet small desserts. See photo below:

I hope that you have enjoyed a small sample of what Cuban desserts are like from my vacation to Cayo Santa Maria, Cuba. With the summer months ahead and the official summer day is a few days away, I hope that this brings a bit of a tropical & summery feeling for your next sweet dessert craving.

Until next time, I will be searching for my next sweet adventure!

-Sweet B.

***************************************************************************************************

Reference Links

Havana Guide – Cuban Desserts -> Click here for Link

Resort: Eurostars Cayo Santa Maria -> Click here for Link

***************************************************************************************************

Leave a Reply

