Discovered the Best Authentic French Pâtisserie in Old Montreal: Maison Christian Faure

Hi everyone!

I’m back and excited to share with you about a new pastry/bakery that I discovered during my recent trip to Montreal where I attended my 1st conference for Food Bloggers of Canada (check out my review here if you haven’t read it yet: click here -> FBC2015 Review) as I mentioned in my previous entry. I still found some time after the conference before I left Montreal to explore the Old Port and Old Montreal. Montreal is a city known for many great restaurants & cafes and there are always so many choices to choose in Montreal.

I been to Montreal a few times now and one of my fave places to explore is Old Montreal where I love walking along the old cobblestoned streets and you will find streets with buildings dating from the 17th through 19th centuries to grand old French restaurants, history museums as well as the Notre-Dame-de-Bon-Secours Chapel, boutique shops, and the riverfront Old Port. The Old Port, which I took a walk there on a beautiful day that day it stretches for over two kilometres along the St-Lawrence River in Old Montreal. It’s a beautiful place to enjoy nature and it has access for those who likes to do walking, cycling, roller-blading, etc. The historical Old Port offers visitors alike access to a wide variety of activities, including the Montreal Science Centre with an IMAX Theatre and the Montreal Clock Tower.

After having lunch in Old Montreal as I strolled through the old cobblestoned streets. I discovered in Old Montreal on the rue (street) of Place Royale is an authentic French Pâtisserie called: Maison Christian Faure. Stepping into this pastry shop feels like a modern French authentic cafe and I really enjoyed the welcoming atmosphere that this pastry shop has to offer as I was greeted when I walked in. As I walked in the pastry shop, you could smell the fresh pastry breads and I felt like I was surround by yummy sweets, it was really hard to choose what to eat as I was a bit full from lunch. But how can I say no to these sweet desserts? LOL!

Maison Christian Faure offers an assortment of desserts and pastries that includes French macarons, tarts, fresh breads, éclairs, biscuits, madeleines, meringues and homemade jams, etc along with other French classics that shows Maison Christian Faure pastry shop a diversity of the magnificent local Quebec produce. Along with pastries & desserts, Maison Christian Faure also as a deli counter showcasing Quebec’s local and seasonal produce chosen and carefully prepared for customers. Maison Christian Faure may also hosts parties, receptions, and a private lounge for events. Maison Christian Faure is not just a pastry shop, but also the first International school dedicated to French pastry in Canada. “The Pastry School is the upshot of a team of accomplished and acclaimed chefs, all holding the Meilleur Ouvrier de France title. They have come together to offer a curriculum that is based on the principles and values of excellence as well as the schooling of the French know-how and art of living.” (from website: Maison Christian Faure)

After finally deciding from all the yummy sweets, I picked a French Apple Tatin, which if you don’t know what “Tatin” is which I didn’t know that there was a type of pastry called: Tatin, but it is an upside-down pastry in which the fruit (usually apples) are caramelized in butter and sugar before the tart is baked. It’s great and interesting to learn about new terminology in this food industry, I feel when I go to different places I tend to discover new things, which I love and then to share with my readers as well. To me this Apple Tatin was in simple terms an apple pie and I can not even describe how this simple dessert was simply delicious!! It was so fresh and it tasted very authentic French dessert, I think I could have ate a 2nd one and that’s how good it was. The exterior of the tart may look hard but it was sooooo soft when I ate it. Every bite was like you were on cloud 9 and you wanted more and more. I was too full to even get a tea or drink so next time will definitely be coming back to have a tea with my dessert.

Noted I posted the delicious Apple Tatin twice as it looked soooo beautiful as well, one close up of the dessert! It was almost too pretty to eat. That’s why I love desserts so much, they always look so pretty.

Of course, I couldn’t leave the pastry shop without having one of my fave desserts, macarons. How can I not at least get one to sample as I am in one of the authentic French dessert shop in Montreal? I got the Raspberry macaron and had it as my dessert on the train later on that day when I headed back home to Toronto. It was the best macaron I ever had!!! It also had raspberry filling inside to top it all off. I only wish I had more lol!! I could probably eat half a dozen of their macarons, it is that good! I guess I know where to get the best macarons in Montreal the next time I visit this beautiful city.

If you are looking for an authentic French pastry & dessert shop, look no further than Maison Christian Faure, by renowned pastry Chef Christian Faure who specializes in the art of pastry and desserts and was awarded the ‘Best Pastry Chef of the World” title by The American Academy for Hospitality Sciences. It is the best French Pâtisserie shop in Montreal located in Old Montreal, it is definitely worth it to come and enjoy some French sweets of all kinds! I know now when I’m in Montreal where my must eat dessert place is, I would definitely recommend this bakery shop and it is definitely a must go to try when you’re in Montreal! I can’t wait to come back to try more sweet & delicious desserts here! Maison Christian Faure will not disappoint.

Until the next sweet festive adventure….

-Sweet B.

***************************************************************************************************

For more information to contact or to visit Maison Christian Faure, please see below:

Address: 355, Place Royale, Montreal, QC  H2Y 2V3

Hours of Operations: Everyday from 8:00 A.M. to 7:00 P.M.

Website: maisonchristianfaure.ca

Pastry school
Phone #: 514 508-6452
registrar@christianfaure.ca

Counter and boutique
Phone #: 514 508-6453
admin@christianfaure.ca

You can also find Maison Christian Faure on Facebook – @cfaureMOF, Follow on Twitter – @MaisonCF, and Instagram – @maisonchristianfaure.

****************************************************************************************************

Leave a Reply

