A Little Hidden Asian Gem Cafe: Sweet Pea Dessert Café

Hi everyone!!

Happy Chinese New Year aka Gong Hey Fat Choy to all my sweet Asian followers & also to those who also celebrate Chinese New Year! It’s a special month for me as this past weekend is the start of a celebration for a New Year in the Asian culture, the Year of the Monkey! There are many preparations for Chinese New Year so it’s been quite the busy week for me with the tradition of a clean household so I been busy cleaning and of course all the delicious tradition Chinese food I will be enjoying this week with my family.

In honor of this special celebration for Chinese New Year, I am sharing with you this hidden little gem of an Asian dessert café called: Sweet Pea Dessert Café, which is located at Yonge and Sheppard, just steps away from the subway. I only discovered this hidden little café recently and been looking to fulfill my sweet authentic Asian craving in the North York area as most of the places I go to is usually in Markham or downtown. I was pleasantly surprised to find this little café, which if you didn’t know it is a branch of Hung Fook Tong, another Asian dessert place.

Don’t let their English name, Sweet Pea Dessert Café fool you with their selection of sweet, fresh, authentic and oriental desserts. Their mission is to serve delicious and healthier alternative desserts, which for me is a great idea for someone who loves desserts and my sweets to try something healthier but still enjoying what I love desserts!

Sweet Pea Dessert Café has a wide selection and variety to choose from and it was hard for me to actually choose what I wanted to try. They offer a selection of fresh fruit desserts, sweet pea dumplings, Chinese cakes & puddings, cupcakes, apple pie, crépes, waffles, and they are best known for their delicious Crème Brûlée.

I been to Sweet Pea Dessert Café a couple of times now since discovering this cafe as I had to go back to try more of their desserts because they had lots of other yummy desserts and even drinks to try. I simply love their drinks selection from their green tea lemonade to fruity teas to fresh fruit drinks to herbal teas to hot drinks, you can find it all here!! Now that I know this café exists I always love that I can stop by for a quick drink to go!

One of the times I stopped by Sweet Pea Dessert Café on a Sunday, I enjoyed their signature Mango Supreme w/ Fresh Mango Dice, it was delicious! I love any mango desserts, it’s so hard for me to resist lol!! I loved it just as good as the Asian dessert places in Markham. I also had the most delicious & authentic Honey Lemon Tea, I been to a few places to enjoy simple Honey Lemon Tea and you can tell when it is made authentic and simply perfect and this one was made just perfect.

This is a relatively small but very cozy café with a very inviting atmosphere. I love that there are buzzer button on the tables to request for service. The customer service at this café from both times I been there the server was very friendly and quick.

Another time I dropped by Sweet Pea Dessert Café, I tried their refreshing Very Berry Green Tea Lemonade, but the server was nice enough to accommodate me with for just a Raspberry Green Tea Lemonade. Loved how it was light, healthy and fresh fruits in the drink! I also got takeout of course a mango dessert, I tried their Fresh Mango Roll and overall it was pretty good even though the mango itself was a bit hard so it wasn’t as sweet as I would have liked it. That would be my only small complain about it but otherwise this café has been nothing but simply delicious and good. I’m looking forward to coming back to this café to try other desserts like the mango pudding and more of the sweet healthy fruit tea drinks!

Takeout Menu

If you are looking for an authentic Asian dessert café with healthier options, but still have the sweet taste to satisfy your sweet cravings, definitely check out this little hidden gem, Sweet Pea Dessert Café. I definitely would recommend it if you are looking for an Asian dessert café in the North York area or if you are not, come drop by it will definitely be worth to satisfy your sweet cravings! They also have another location in Scarborough as well if you live closer there to try it.

I hope that you all have enjoyed a little taste of my Asian culture sweet side for desserts.

I would like to wish all my sweet readers all the happiness, prosperous, successful & good health in the Year of the Monkey!!

Monkey

Don’t forget to come back next weekend for my Valentine’s Day special blog post, wonder what sweet dessert place would I share next with you! Come back and see for yourself! Until then, searching for my next sweet adventure…

-Sweet B.

Red Pockets - 1Orange- 1Boat      Red Pockets - 1Orange- 1Boat

For more information on Sweet Pea Dessert Café,

Address:

4704 Yonge Street, Toronto, ON, M2N 5M4 (North York Location)

633 Silver Star Blvd, Unit 121, Scarborough, ON, M1V 5N1 (Scarborough Location)

Website: Sweet Pea Dessert Café

You can also find them on Facebook -> Sweet Pea Dessert Café & Instagram -> SweetPea_DessertCafe

 

Leave a Reply

