My Sweet Adventure on Macaron Day 2016

Hi everyone,

Happy Belated Macaron Day & it’s officially Spring now as of last weekend on March 20, 2016 marks the 1st Day of Spring despite the fact that in Toronto it haven’t felt like Spring more like winter esp after that ice storm we just had.

Sorry for the lack of blog posts, it’s been a busy month of March for me with my birthday celebrations (yes my birthday just past this week…😀) and busy at work adjusting to my recently new position. I hope that you would be patient with me and still continue to be here waiting for me with my sweet entries for me to share with you, my sweet readers! If you are wondering when my next blog posts are, you can always check my Twitter account for the latest updates as I’m quite active on Twitter.

Now onto why I’m here to share with you my sweet heavenly day last weekend on Sunday, March 20, 2016 for Macaron Day. This is my 3rd Year celebrating this sweet elegant & delectable bite-sized dessert, macarons. As you know, macarons is one of my fave type of desserts. Of course it comes with no surprise that I will be celebrating my love for macarons!

Macaron Day TO not only celebrates our love for macarons, but also additional 25% of purchased macarons will be donated to Red Door Family Shelter. For who don’t know about Macaron Day, Toronto will offer macaron lovers complimentary macarons to enjoy at local pastry shops. To receive a complimentary macaron, you would visit one of the participating patisserie that is listed on the Macaron Day TO website and just simply mention that you are celebrating Macaron Day TO.

This year I decided to stop by 2 of my fave pastry shops as it was hard to decide which one to go to. My 1st stop was to Dessert Lady and I was one of their lucky winners to win a box of their new Doncaron (Donut Macaron basically & it’s one of the new trend right now for macarons). I was excited to taste the Donut Macarons! They were offering 5 flavours of the Donut Macarons – Strawberry Jelly, Confetti, Chocolate Dip, Maple Dip and Boston Cream.  My fave definitely was the Strawberry Jelly and it was delicious, it actually tasted like the real donut. I definitely recommend you try Dessert Lady new creation – Doncaron! I also picked up the traditional French Macarons – Raspberry Lemon Twist (which is my fave now) and Mango flavours that these flavours reminded me of Spring time. I love the Raspberry Lemon Twist!! One of my new fave flavours!! I definitely recommend it. I simply love their Instagram booth that they had out that day to interact with customers.

When I stopped by Dessert Lady, it was quite busy, but I’m always happy to be greeted by their staff and feel welcome there despite how busy it was. It was great seeing a few familiar faces there as well as I been there quite often. I was very happy with my selection of macarons there! Dessert Lady was one of the participating patisserie for Macaron Day To who gave out samples of their Doncaron!

My next stop was to my annual stop that I go every year for Macaron Day TO, which is Butter Avenue. I love going to Butter Avenue every year as they always have a special limited edition flavours that day and I always love to try new flavours. Plus Butter Avenue never disappoints me with their delicious macarons.

Butter Avenue this year have 30 limited edition flavours at both of their locations that day and as well this year they are donating 30% of the day’s sales to @kidscooktocare. I went to the Yonge & Lawrence location. It was hard to choose which flavours I would like to try that day as I got half a dozen so picking 6 flavours to share with my sisters. As it’s always more sweeter to share with others.

I ended up choosing: Strawberry Yogurt, Raspberry Marshmallow, Passionfruit Marshmallow, Green Apple Matcha and Coconut Apricot. My fave in the end was the Coconut Apricot, which I was surprised as I’m not a huge fan of Coconut but the apricot and coconut mixed together was simply delicious it’s hard to describe how it tasted. I love the Coconut Apricot! I hope that they will bring back some of the flavours as I wanted to also try: Dragon Eye and Raspberry Rose just to name a few.

Overall, what a sweet & heavenly day for me as a macaron lover, both Dessert Lady & Butter Avenue fulfilled my love for sweet French macarons that day! You can never get enough macarons, I love trying new creations and new flavours that day.

I am already looking forward to Macaron Day TO next year 2017!!

Now I’m off looking for my next sweet adventure, until then…

-Sweet B.

For more information & details for Macaron Day TO, check out their website -> here

For more information on Dessert Lady & Butter Avenue, please see below:

Dessert Lady

Address: 12 Cumberland Street, Toronto, ON

Website: http://dessertlady.ca

Follow them on Facebook @DessertLady, Twitter @DessertLady_TO & Instagram @DessertLady_TO

Butter Avenue

Address:

Yonge & Lawrence – 3467 Yonge Street

Queen & Spadina – 477 Queen Street West

Website: www.butteravenue.com

Follow them on Facebook @ButterAvenue, Twitter @ButterAvenue, & Instagram @ButterAvenue

 

 

One thought on “My Sweet Adventure on Macaron Day 2016

Leave a Reply

