My Magical & Foodie Vacation in Florida

Hi everyone,

Sorry for the delay everyone for not posting this earlier due to some technical difficulties with my cable last week, it is all fixed now & then I got sick lol! Lots of things happening at once, thank you once again for being so patient with me!

I’m back now from my sunny & a bit rainy Florida vacation!! It was definitely a nice & much needed break since starting my new full time Administrative job. I had an amazing time with my family enjoying the Disney side of things in Orlando! It’s been a month since my vacation and it has taken me a few weeks to get back into a swing of things and get settled again with unpacking & more!! I hope that you all didn’t miss me too much and wasn’t craving too much without my sweet posts…:) For those following me on my Instagram or Twitter will already have a sneak peek of my foodie & sunny Florida trip.

I am currently working on my next sweet post so something for you my readers to look forward to, it will be posted by the end of the month, so don’t forget to come back to check what my next sweet adventure is.

(At Magic Kingdom where the Magical Castle is)

In the meantime, I would like to share with you some of my sweet discoveries while I was on vacation in Orlando, Florida. If you are planning a trip to Orlando, if you are looking for some sweet bakery items a must stop is Carlo’s Bake Shop at the Florida Mall. If you haven’t heard of Carlo’s Bake Shop, Carlo’s is a family owned bakery featured on the TLC hit show Cake Boss. It’s one of the shows I love to watch as well as his other show, The Next Great Baker Show and I also saw Buddy Valastro in person at the Baking & Sweets Show a few years ago.

So when I heard that his bakery is at the Florida Mall, I had to of course stop by and check it out. When you first step into the store, you smell the aroma of sweet baked goods and a very friendly atmosphere in the store. There were so many delicious looking baked goods it was definitely hard to choose. I love the variety of selections that they offered and each one looked more appetizing than the other. I ended up trying my fave old-fashion oatmeal raisin cookies, it is probably one of the best oatmeal raisin cookies I ever had! It was soft & it literally melts in your mouth, wish I got more than 1 cookie lol! The size of the cookie was bigger than a normal size one, pretty big too. We also got some shortbread with jam cookies, delicious!! Check out some of the photos of Carlo’s Bakery at the Florida Mall. I hope one day to check out his original bake shop in New Jersey.

Carlos Bake Shop - 5(My delicious Oatmeal Raisin cookie & shortbread cookies from Carlo’s Bake Shop)

If you are in the Walt Disney World area, I definitely recommend you going to Disney Springs, which was formally known as Downtown Disney. It is an outdoor shopping, dining and entertainment complex that is going through a major expansion and a transformation. There are some parts of Disney Spring still under construction and new stores are still coming everyday.

(A view of part of Disney Springs)

With their variety & large selection of dining at Disney Springs, it’s hard to choose which restaurant, pub or dessert shop to go to. I would definitely recommend for a dessert place is, Amorette’s Patisserie, which is a sophisticated pastry shop filled with a delicate gallery of goodies from signature beautiful cakes, éclairs, cheesecakes, cookies and of course my fave macarons. The moment you enter the pastry shop, it feels like you are in a world of elegance and fine pastries from Paris, France with professional chefs to watch them decorate cakes. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to taste any of the sweet & fine delicious pastries that day due to time constraint and was very disappointed. I look forward to trying some next time I’m back at Disney Springs and know where to go for desserts as it was a very popular & recommended dessert place by many. If the photos I took doesn’t show how delicious some of their elegant desserts look to intrigue you to stop by then you are missing out on some fine pastries.  I was able to check out the pastry shop at least, so please see below some of my delicious photos from Amorette’s Patisserie shop.

Amorettes Patisserie - 2(Love these cute Mickey & Minnie cakes, very Disney like)

On a very hot day in Florida like the day I went, the perfect place to stop by in Disney Springs is, Vivoli Il Gelato, where they make with freshly made & finest ingredients the most delicious Italian gelato. This world-famous, family-run gelato shop from Florence, Italy finally chose to open its second storefront in Disney Springs. Besides gelato, they also offer sweet and savory baked goods in the bakery case that includes an assortment of panini sandwiches and traditional Italian cookies and tarts.

Vivoli Il Gelato is a small shop with no seating area inside but there is a small patio sitting area just outside the shop to enjoy your sweet cool treat!

If you are unsure of what flavour you would like to try, there offer samples to make your decision from the 24 flavours available. I ended up with two flavours my fave Strawberry & Mango, I love mango flavours and desserts!! It was simply delicious and tasted like authentic Italian gelato made smooth and melts in your mouth. I definitely recommend you drop by this sweet cool Italian spot to cool down!

Another sweet spot to mention is Sprinkles where you can find gourmet cupcakes. Unfortunately due to time constraint I was not able to stop by Sprinkles, but if I were to come back definitely will stop by to try a cupcake as they are well known for delicious cupcakes and Florida has the World’s Cupcake First ATM that dispenses freshly baked cupcakes, how cool is that??

(View of Sprinkles from across the water)

Those are a few of my recommendations if you are looking for some sweet baked goods & dessert places in Disney Springs.

My recommendations for the more savory/non-sweet places, in Disney Springs and Universal Studios Walk are the 2 main places to discover more restaurants to dine to fit any appetite in the Orlando, Florida area.

For one of our dinners, we went to Wolfgang Puck Grand Café in Disney Springs it is divided into 3 sections: express, café, and dine in. Wolfgang Puck is an Austrian-born American celebrity chef & well known restaurateur, so it is no surprise that I had to dine at one of his restaurants. It was my first time dining at a Wolfgang Puck restaurant and enjoyed his take on casual dishes with his homemade Austrian cuisine. I ordered the Rigatoni Bolognese pasta and thought it tasted pretty good, but to be honest I had more authentic Bolognese sauce. Overall, enjoyed my experience at Wolfgang Puck.

One of the places I love going to when I was in Orlando, Florida is the Universal Studios City Walk as we stayed near the Universal Studios side and if you didn’t, I definitely recommend you stopping by to check out this unique entertainment complex. Universal Studios City Walk is the entertainment and retail districts located adjacent to the theme parks of Universal Parks & Resorts. This is where one-of-kind-collection array of themed restaurants is available along with boutique shops prefect for anytime.

During my stay in Florida, I went to the Universal Studios City Walk several times dining at different restaurants that they offered, which I also recommend and dined at Hard Rock Café, NBC Sports Bar & Brew (you can check out my Instagram @SweetBFoodie24 for those food photos) and more.

(Evening view of Universal Studios Walk with the Globe)

If you are looking for some authentic Italian food, I definitely recommend Vivo Italian Kitchen as I love Italian food and of course while I’m on vacation love to have some Italian food. When I first went to Vivo Italian Kitchen, I was welcomed with a modern Italian decor but with the aroma of the old Italian cuisine of simmering sauces, freshly baked breads and freshly made pasta that is made right in front of you. The restaurant has the modern open concept kitchen that takes center stage where guests are able to observe the chefs cooking from fresh bread, preparing homemade mozzarella to fresh pasta.

I enjoyed the classic Parmigiano with chicken and marinara sauce with Raspberry Ice Tea (love my sweet teas and it was freshly brewed tea), it was simply delicious! It tasted like an authentic Italian meal with the sweet marinara sauce and freshly made pasta. Some of you many already seen this classic authentic meal on my Instagram account.

I would definitely recommend stopping by Universal Studios City Walk, it would be definitely worth to check out with the many dining options, shops and the beautiful atmosphere of Universal Studios that it has to offer.

Here are 2 more photos from my magical day at Magic Kingdom with my family, see below:

(Me with my sisters, my mom and my niece in front of the castle)

(My mom & me in front of the Mickey Mouse entrance at Magic Kingdom)

What a magical, sunny and sweet Disney Florida vacation I had filled with yummy treats, shopping, sunny poolside days and fun magical theme parks adventures! I hope that everyone has enjoyed reading my Florida foodie adventures and I look forward to sharing my upcoming summer adventures with everyone. There are a few exciting summer foodie festivals coming up and I can’t wait to taste & explore new foods to share with you all.

So please don’t forget to check my Twitter @SweetBFoodie24 or Instagram @SweetBFoodie24 accounts for updates on when my next post is coming or what foodie adventure I’m enjoying on a more daily basis. Don’t forget to come back in a few weeks for my next sweet post.

For now I leave you with my magical fairy dust of a sweet Disney adventure, until then…

-Sweet B.

Mickey Mouse - Border - 4A

For more information on any of the dessert places or restaurants in Orlando, Florida, see links below:

Carlo’s Bake Shop – Website: Carlo’s Bake Shop Florida Mall

Social Media: You can follow Carlo’s Bake Shop on Twitter @Carlos_FLMall & Facebook @CarlosBakeryFloridaMall & if you want to follow Buddy Valastro himself, check him out on Twitter @CakeBossBuddy.

For all Disney Springs restaurants/shops, check out their website: Here and you can follow them on Twitter @DisneySprings, Facebook @DisneySprings & on Instagram @DisneySprings

Amorette’s Patisserie – Website: Disney Springs – Amorette’s Patisserie

Vivoli Il Gelato – Website: Disney Springs – Vivoli Il Gelato

Wolfgang Puck Grand Café – Website: Disney Springs – Wolfgang Puck Grand Cafe & Follow them on Facebook @WolfGangPuckOrlando

For Universal Studios City Walk, check out their official site -> Here, Twitter @UniversalORL, Facebook @UniversalStudiosOrlando & Instagram @UniversalOrlando.

Vivo Italian Kitchen – Website: Vivo Italian Kitchen

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

