My Highlights from Taste of Toronto 2016

Hi everyone!

Welcome back to another of my tasty blog post, some of my posts this summer will be a bit delayed as it is a busy summer for me and with some changes with my other full time job, I been trying to balance work & blogging. I hope that my sweet readers will still continue to come back for more just be a bit patient, thank you all for understanding!

So let’s get to it with the summer weather is officially upon us with the heat & humidity, it finally feels like real summer! One of the things I love about summer is going to food festivals. One of my fave food festivals is Taste of Toronto, which always is my 1st food festival to kick off my summer months. I always enjoy going to my foodie events with none other than my mom, she loves attending these foodie festivals like me so I’m always happy for her to join me on this fun adventure. We have been going to Taste of Toronto every year together so this year was no different. This year the weather was perfect sunny & hot for this amazing tasty festival to go to for a weekend.

Me & my mom with our drinks from Palm Bay

This is my 3rd year going to Taste of Toronto and I had mixed reviews of attending because after checking out the menu online, I was uncertain about the tasty selection and foods this year.

If you are unfamiliar with Taste of Toronto, here is a quick review of it:

  • Dates: June 23 – 26, 2016
  • Location: Garrison Common At Fort York
  • Operates like a restaurant, offering afternoon and evening services. There are a total of six sessions running over the four day festival, with each session lasting between four and five hours
  • Its own currency system, known as “Crowns”. All restaurant dishes and any items that you wish to purchase from the artisan stalls can be bought with your Crown Card
  • Some activities to take part in from live cooking demonstrations, tastings, to hands-on cooking classes, producers market (one of my fave visit were to Ace Bakery booth & Pure Leaf booth), and much more

This year returning Chef Mark McEwan was back along with celebrity Chef, Chuck Hughes and new to Taste of Toronto are, Chef Rob Bragagnolo (Carver) and Jamie Kennedy (farm to table practices).

There were some really delicious dishes this year I tasted and I guess the only thing I was disappointed was the lack of desserts that were offered this year and for me being able to only have diary-free desserts, it was very limited this year though for me.

This year the menu options was slightly changed, they were still offering 4 dishes but the 4th dish was called “the dish”, which was either their signature dish or a speciality dish that the price was quite expensive to me depending on which vendor you went to, it varies in prices. As well this year the layout of the Taste of Toronto area was changed and different from other years. I am unsure if the layout change is good or not, I got a bit confused when I was walking around the area.

My Top 3 Fave Dishes This Year are:

  1. Roast Chicken Sandwich with Charred Lemon Aioli & Grilled Tomato Pesto by Carver (Chef Rob Bragagnolo), simply the best Roast Chicken sandwich I ever had!! It had the perfect flavour and herbs to make this an amazing sandwich! Carver did not disappoint at all! 
  2. Crispy Calamari Po-Boy with Ace Bakery charcoal bun and lemon caper aioli by The Mark McEwan Group, that one seemed to be everyone fave as the lineup for it was long, but totally worth the wait as despite not eating much seafood and not a fan fave of calamari, I was quite surprised how much I enjoyed it with the right amount of crispy and taste to it. Really enjoyed the charcoal bun too. I also had the honor of meeting Chef Mark McEwan that day too.                                                                                                                                                                                         Me & Chef Mark McEwan    
  3. Both Dishes by The Drake – True North Salmon Fried Rice with Salmon Roe, Drake XO Sauce & Pork and Shrimp Dumplings with Szuchuan Chili Jam, I couldn’t choose which one as every year The Drake delivers on their amazing food and this year was no difference, I simply love their light and fresh dishes with the salmon fried rice. Who doesn’t love dumplings, but they made their light and fresh with a bit of punch with the chili jam (I don’t eat much spicy food so it was sure to wake up your tastebuds).                              

My Fave Returning Dish:

  • Station Burger with milk bun, beet chutney and onion ring by my fave The Richmond Station of course! It was a must have when who else makes the best burgers then Richmond Station and they did no disappoint at all, it was freshly made and juicy. Simply delicious!

So that wraps up this year of my visit to Taste of Toronto 2016! I hope that you didn’t get too hungry with some of the delicious foods I enjoyed this year at Taste of Toronto, if you haven’t been to this food festival, I definitely suggest you come next year to enjoy these tasty foods to sample and enjoy. It definitely has something for everyone!

I look forward to next year Taste of Toronto 2017 to be better & for more delicious & new foods to sample and enjoy.

For now, I am off to search for my next foodie festival or new place to try to share with you all. So don’t forget to come back to read all about it, it might be something you want to try?

-Sweet B.

 

 

For more information on Taste of Toronto & the other vendors, please see below:

Taste of Toronto – Official Website -> check here

You can follow them on Facebook @TasteofToronto, Twitter @TasteofToronto, and Instagram @TasteofToronto.

Carver Slow Roasted – Website -> click here

Address: 101 Peter St., Toronto, ON

You can follow them on Twitter @Carverslow & Instagram @Carver.to as well as Chef Rob Bragagnolo (Owner of Carver Slow) on Twitter @RobBragagnolo

The Mark McEwan Group – Website -> click here

You can follow them on Facebook @TheMarkMcEwanGroup & Instagram @TheMarkMcEwanGroup

As well as you can follow Chef Mark McEwan on Twitter @Chef_MarkMcEwan & Instagram @ChefMarkMcEwan.

The Drake – Website – click here

You can follow them on Facebook @TheDrakeHotel, Twitter @TheDrakeHotel & Instagram @TheDrakeHotel.

Richmond Station – Website – click here

You can follow them on Facebook @RichmondStation, Twitter @Richmondstn & Instagram @RichmondStation.

Ace Bakery – Website – click here

You can follow them on Facebook @ACEBakery, Twitter @ACE_Bakery & Instagram @AceBakery.

 

Leave a Reply

