Highlights of My 1st Vegan Food & Drink Festival

Hi everyone!

It’s been a very humid and scorching summer in Toronto this year! How is everyone handling this humidity? Loving it or not liking it?? πŸ˜‰ LOL!! Well, I was not prepared for this high humidity, trying to find ways to keep cool and still enjoy the hot days while we can as Fall is around the corner and what I love about summer days in Toronto are of course as some of you know, love attending food festivals.

With my 1st summer foodie festival finished & done at the Taste of Toronto, been to a few smaller food festivals this summer after Taste of Toronto. Been going to food festivals that I haven’t been to before this summer experiencing them with my sis who also loves food as much as I do.

This past weekend, I went to my 1st Vegan Food & Drink Festival with my sister who enjoys vegan food and she suggested that I come with her to check it out myself as β€œvegan” also includes no dairy, which is part of my new diet now as I have mentioned before that I started recently having certain products with no dairy as I have a mild lactose intolerance. I am still new and learning about the concept of β€œvegan” food & lifestyle as I do still eat meat but just no dairy products or limited diary products.

I thought that it was a great idea for me to go to the Vegan Food & Drink Festival to explore and learn more about vegan foods & lifestyle.

If you haven’t been to the Vegan Food & Drink Festival before, here are some basic info about it:

  • This is the 2nd Annual Vegan Food & Drink Festival
  • Date: Saturday, August 13, 2016 (One Day Festival)
  • Time: 11am – 7pm
  • Location: Fort York Garrison Commons (double their capacity & space from last year)
  • What Does the Festival Offer: vegan comfort food, cold drinks, and live entertainment
  • Cost: $10 (Early Bird Price) & $15 (At the Door) & $20 (VIP Ticket)
  • Vendors: From local & visiting vendors
  • They also have Vegan Food & Drink Festival in Chicago as well

Despite the rainy, wet and humid weather, my sister and I still enjoyed the Vegan Food & Drink Festival exploring and discovering new vegan desserts & foods as it was interesting to see what vegan food is about and how it tastes. I really enjoyed the few samples of vegan foods that we were able to have with the rain downpour on and off. It is good to know my vegan options and that I can still enjoy vegan food despite being a meat eater still. I liked seeing there were many vendors offering different types of vegan food to explore.

In my opinion, I like how they had a larger space at Fort York Common Grounds and that they were able to have more vendors with the larger space along with seating and entertainment, but I thought it was a bit confusing where certain vendors were. They needed better signage due to the large space (no direction). But I did love their cute quote signs throughout the event. Check out a few of the signage photos I took there below. There were pros and cons at this event.

My Fave foods from the Vegan Food & Drink Festival are:

Fave Dessert – Definitely has to be Dolled Up Desserts as they had the most delicious and amazing desserts selections hands down. I wish I had more lol!! Dolled Up Desserts is a vegan & gluten-free treats offering mini cupcakes, cake-pops minis, cookies (shortbread), magic bars & more at the festival. It was so hard to choose, I wanted them all lol! I ended up enjoying the perfect mini cupcake – Strawberry Shortcake and I love Earl Grey so it was naturally I tried the Earl Grey shortbread cookie, there was a strong flavour of Earl Grey throughout the cookie, which I loved! Next time would love to try the mini cake-pops, can’t wait to try more desserts by Dolled Up Desserts.

  • Fave Drink/Refreshment – Refreshing Fruit Tea with apple, rosehip, lemon pieces, & hibiscus petals by The Cold Pressery (located in Mississauga). As a tea drinker & lover, was very impressed with their Fruit Tea with the right amount of sweetness and light flavour with the fruits.The Cold Pressery - 2
  • Fave Sandwich – Portobello Sandwich by Parka Foods – Refined Comfort Food, love how a simple healthy comfort food such as a mushroom sandwich was made flavourful and filling, my sister and I had the Portobello mushroom sandwich with tomato, onion rings, arugula, guacamole with no chipotle aioli on my mines as I don’t eat spicy foods..:) Sorry I didn’t take a photo of my sandwich as it was pouring rain by the time we got to eat it!

(The Sample Sandwiches)

There were so many vegan & gluten-free desserts options, it was very hard to choose which one to go to! If you can believe it, shocker, but I couldn’t sample them all lots of sweetness happening all at once lol. Thou I was very excited to see that there is a large option for vegan/dairy-free desserts being not able to eat too much dairy products now. I also tried another dessert place called, Bunner’s: a vegan and gluten-free bake shop, which I tried their birthday cinnamon bun, loved the sweet taste of it, but thought with the humidity the cake itself was a bit thick for me to enjoy. I would love to try their other desserts next time.

Bunner Desserts - 2

Overall, I enjoyed tasting & sampling vegan foods and seeing what vegan types of food & desserts of course has to offer at the Vegan Food & Drink Festival 2016. It showed me a different side of vegan foods has to share & offer that I didn’t see before.

If you haven’t been to the Vegan Food & Drink Festival before, I definitely recommend that you come out next year to see what’s it all about it as it’s great to sample & enjoy the vegan food options along with great atmosphere outdoors esp. during the summer time.

I been enjoying my foodie festivals this summer so far – discovering new vegan desserts & new foods, can’t believe summer will be over soon! There are a few more food festivals to go to and my mini trip to Kingston this September that I will be of course sharing with everyone. So don’t forget to come back to my blog to check out what my next food festivals I will be attending if you haven’t already checked out my Twitter @SweetBFoodie24 & Instagram @sweetbfoodie24 for previews before my actual blog.

For now I leave you with these sweet summer vegan desserts to satisfy your sweet cravings or maybe give you some ideas for your next vegan dessert idea…:)

-Sweet B.

fruit_and_vegetables- 1Bfruit_and_vegetables- 1B

For more information on Vegan Food & Drink Festival & the other vendors mentioned above, please see below:

Vegan Food & Drink Festival – website: click here

You can follow them on Facebook @vegandrinkfest, Twitter @vegan_fest and Instagram @vegan_festival.

Dolled Up Desserts – website – click here

You can follow them on Facebook @dolledupdessertsbaking and Instagram @dolledupdessertsbaking.

The Cold Pressery – website – click here

Location:

4310 Sherwoodtowne Blvd #5

Mississauga, ON

You can follow them on Facebook @thecoldpressery, Twitter @TheColdPressery and Instagram @thecoldpressery.

Parka Food Co – website – click here

You can follow them on Facebook @ParkFoodco and Instagram @parkafoodco.

Bunner’s Bakeshop – website – click here

Locations:

Kensington Market: 244 Augusta Ave.

In the Junction: 3054 Dundas St. West

You can follow them on Facebook @BunnersBakeShop, Twitter @BunnersBakeShop and Instagram @bunner.

 

 

 

One thought on “Highlights of My 1st Vegan Food & Drink Festival

Leave a Reply

