My Top 3 Best Dessert Places for Christmas Desserts

Season’s Greetings everyone!!

Happy Holidays to all my sweet readers!! This is my Christmas edition blog entry for this month in December as I can’t believe that Christmas is just around the corner and then it’s the end of the year for 2016. How fast did 2016 go by?? I hope that everyone is enjoying this Holiday Season so far with the warmer winter to now cold brrrr weather and with Toronto’s 1st big snowfall last week and more snow on the way, looks like winter is officially here. I actually love snow especially some during the Christmas time, it’s so pretty outside with the snow with the winter wonderland scenery. Winter means warm yummy desserts like warm apple cobblers and hot delicious baked cookies out of the oven to warm you up.

A quick update on a few things I have going on before we continue with my Christmas edition blog entry, the project that I was working on unfortunately will be delayed til the New Year 2017 hoping to get it done for January 2017 so please bare with me. It’s been a busy Holiday season working at my Admin job and working on a few changes that’s why. I hope that you guys (my readers) will be a bit more patient with me until things are more settled down. I am looking forward to new things happening for 2017 for this blog. I will be posting my Year In Review for 2016 mid-to-end of January 2017 unlike others who does it in December, as I have more time to work on it and share my new beginnings in 2017. Please come back again in January 2017 to read what you missed or a recap of my 2016!!

With Christmas around the corner, this is always a busy time of year for most people and if you are looking for desserts, treats or baked goods for either your Holiday parties or Christmas dinners or any Holiday event is, here are my Top 3 Best Desserts Shops that I highly recommend you should go to:

Mad Batter Bakers

Location: 135 Jefferson Avenue, Toronto (Liberty Village area)

Website: www.madbatterbakers.com

Social Media: Facebook @MadBatterBakers, Twitter @MadBatterBakers and Instagram @madbatterbakers.

Last year I recommended Mad Batter Bakers and this year is no difference, they are my absolutely fave and must stop during this Christmas season as they have the best soft & delicious gingerbread cookies. Gingerbread cookies always makes me feel like it’s Christmas and time for the Holiday season spirit. Besides how delicious their cookies taste, their cookies look so pretty too, I simply love their not overly sweet icing on their cookies as some places make the icings really sweet. Mad Batter Bakers also offer Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies. Some new items that they have added recently are the gingerbread house to build and their adorable Mug Mates (picture below). They also now have these cute pins, it’s a must buy as I got one myself…:)

For those who don’t know, I first discovered Mad Batter Bakers at the One of a Kind Christmas Show a few years ago and ever since then I don’t go anywhere else for my soft & delicious Gingerbread cookies. It is a must stop at my fave cookie shop, the Mad Batter Bakers booth at my Annual tradition of attending the One of A Kind Christmas Show to get their soft delicious Gingerbread cookies.  If you can’t stop by at the show, they also have a booth at the Spring One of A Kind Show in March or you definitely stop by at their bakery shop located in the Liberty Village district in Toronto. See photos below of their booth at the One of a Kind Christmas Show.

My Goodies from Mad Batter Bakers from the One of a Kind Christmas Show

This year, I finally got to visit their cozy and warm friendly shop. I love when you first walk in the door, there is a beautiful aroma smell of the most delicious sweet gingerbread flavor. There is a large selection of different gingerbread cookies to choose from, it is always so hard for me to pick. You can’t leave the store without having a delicious sample as well!! It is always a pleasure speaking with the owner and the amazing customer service I receive every time I visit her booth at the shows and at the store as well. I love their cute chalkboard signs that they do! See below my photos from her bake shop.

So if you are looking for the best gingerbread cookies in Toronto, don’t look further than Mad Batter Bakers, come by visit this quaint bakery shop for yourself to see what I’m talking about. It surely will not disappoint you!! It is worth the trip to visit and taste these amazing cookies.

christmas-food-dividers-2

Pusateri’s – Saks Food Hall at Eaton Centre

Location: 176 Yonge Street, Toronto, ON (downtown area)

Website: www.pusateris.com

Social Media: Facebook @Pusateris, Twitter @PusaterisFoods and Instagram @pusaterisfoods.

My next recommend is Pusateri’s – Saks Food Hall at Eaton Centre as a few weeks ago I discovered this brand new high-end food hall, which spans about 25,000 sq.ft. It is very impressive food hall with the high-end finishes and serving high-quality food. Pusateri’s has recently (Nov 2016) expanded to the downtown core within the Hudson’s Bay building located in the basement of Saks Fifth Avenue at Queen and Yonge. While this is their 2nd location, their 1st location is at Sherway Gardens if that location is closer for you to check out.

It is a large space devoted to on-the-go food and catering, which includes pizza, sushi, seafood and rotisserie counters, the butcher features a wide selection of prepared sandwiches, and it even includes a champagne bar. It also has a grocery store within this large space, which is great for after work shopping.

Pusateri’s – Saks Food Hall at Eaton Centre has a large selection of delicious desserts to choose from. That’s why I’m recommending them as with their large variety of desserts from cakes, macarons, tarts, cookies, pastries and more that there is a dessert for everyone. Their desserts are high-quality and delicious as I have tasted a few myself that day as I couldn’t choose what desserts to have. I decided on the Oatmeal Walnut Cranberry cookie and it was simply delicious, it was a soft-chewy cookie, which was made perfectly. If you love thumbprint cookies, I had the Raspberry one and loved it!! They make amazing and fresh homemade cookies here, I highly recommend you coming by to try some!!

My yummy cookies I got

Their selection of cakes and mini cakelets are perfect for Christmas desserts for any number of people especially if you are looking for last minute ideas. The hours of operation at this location opens late enough that you can come down to get your desserts after work as well. Please check their website for the hours of operations.

Despite the busy Holiday season and on a weekend, their customer service at the counter was friendly and efficient as when I was there on a weekend. They were very organized and quick to take the orders and attentive to each person’s needs.

With Pusateri’s – Saks Food Hall array of variety, delicious and high-end desserts, I would definitely recommend to check out this Pusateri’s location to get your desserts for your Christmas dinner, any events, parties or even for New Year’s.

Nadège Patisserie

Location: 3401 Dufferin Street, Toronto, ON

Website: www.nadege-patisserie.com

Social Media: Facebook @NadegePatisserie, Twitter @NadegeToronto and Instagram @nadegetoronto.

My last recommendation is Nadège Patisserie at their newest location at Yorkdale mall. This is her 4th location that Nadège has opened in Toronto since her first location opened in 2009 on Queen Street West. Nadège has a French background where she was born in France. The dessert creations are prepared by Nadège, a fourth-generation pastry chef from Lyon, France known for her modern art dessert creations.

Nadège Patisserie is located in the new section of Yorkdale where Nordstrom is also located. It is a pretty big concept location for Nadège Patisserie making it enough space for a large variety of desserts and a small section for seating area. When I was there, it was quite busy as I am not surprised with her delicious looking desserts, it is no wonder people are there to enjoy the sweet desserts while shopping. It is not just how beautiful it looks, the quality and taste of her desserts matches what it looks like.

Nadège Patisserie main feature are the elegant & delicious macarons as well they offer Petit Choux, tarts, cakes (different sizes), savoury options include sandwiches, pies, and more!! Perfect for the Holiday season is her Holiday collection that includes Yule Logs, Holiday shaped chocolates, candy cane bark, box of Holiday chocolate bonbons and more. The Holiday collection is also beautifully packaged so it makes it easy to give it as a gift.

They also do catering for events by Nadège where they offer à la carte collection includes all the beautiful bites you’ll need to host the perfect office luncheon, team breakfast or breathtaking high tea! Ideal for holiday entertaining, corporate meeting or any event that you are planning!

With the large selection of desserts to choose from, I decided on my fave type of dessert, which is macarons of course, so bought a box of 6 to try and share with my sisters (who also love macarons) and tried my 1st Petit Choux, I sampled the Strawberry one and wow it is hard to describe in words how delicious this puff pastry is. It was very light and airy, but in the centre there was a strawberry filling which was amazing, perfect sweetness. I loved it!! I love how light this pastry was. I’m definitely coming back for another Petit Choux!! It will not be my last one lol!!

The macarons I really enjoyed them, it wasn’t too sweet and as I eat a lot of macarons at different bakery that I now know what a good macaron is now. This is one of them! 🙂

If you are looking for some elegant, modern and delicious variety of desserts for last minute Christmas gifts or desserts for Christmas dinner or treats for New Year’s Eve even, I highly recommend Nadège Patisserie at their Yorkdale location. Or if their other 3 locations are closer, I suggest you check it out.

christmas-snowman-dividers-1christmas-snowman-dividers-1

If you are looking for Christmas treats, desserts, bakery items, or Christmas gifts, please check out my Top 3 Dessert/Bakery shops: Mad Batter BakersPusateri’s – Saks Food Hall, and Nadège Patisserie as they offer the most delicious desserts & bakery items in Toronto.  With my experience with each bakery I would definitely recommend them.

I hope that they satisfy your sweet cravings as much as they have satisfied mines.

Happy Sweet New Year’s to all my readers!!!  Don’t forget to enjoy a sweet dessert on New Year’s Eve and would love to know what you had on New Year’s Eve, so please comment below and let me know or maybe a suggestion for me to try. I always love to hear from you guys!!

Until then, I will be searching for my next sweet & healthy vegan adventure in 2017…😋🎉🍰🌱

-Sweet B.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

