My Food Travels – Spring Getaway 2017 to London, Ontario

Hi everyone!

Welcome back to my sweet foodie blog!! I’m back now!! Can you believe that it is August and half the summer is already over?? 😁 Summer is going by quickly, but we still have the rest of the month to enjoy these sunny and rainy days?? There seem to be more rainfall this year than normal, which I’m not too fond of. I hope that everyone is still enjoying their summer so far like me.

I decided to take a mini break from writing in July as I had a busy schedule with my mini summer getaway to Belleville and Kingston along with other activities like attending food festivals, watching baseball, spending time with my family and more. What have you guys been up to this summer?? Did anyone discover a new bakery that I can try?? You can leave me a comment below, I always love to hear from my readers.

Quick Update

Getting things back on track, I’m also working on a few ideas and looking for new delicious bakeries or restaurants or sharing with you my next foodie events in August as in August & September there are a few food festivals to attend that I’m looking forward to.

Don’t forget if you want the latest updates on my next blog post or to follow my foodie adventures, please follow me on Twitter @SweetBFoodie24 OR on Instagram where I’m posting a bit more stories now so you can check those out too @SweetBFoodie24. For any upcoming food festivals or events I’m attending, check my Instagram stories as well as my photos for the live updates.

2nd Feature – Food Travels in London, Ontario

My next feature in my Food Travels is in London, Ontario where I went to London for a mini getaway in the Spring time on the last week of May 2017. I haven’t been to London before even though I was born in Toronto, ON I am still discovering new cities within my province of Ontario. I love exploring new cities or towns so I was excited to go to London as I read and heard that London’s culinary scene is known for it’s local and seasonal food from farm to table and their outstanding farmer’s market and on the rise in a lot of their restaurants are plant-based cuisine. I was excited to explore what London’s vegan type of foods has to offer and esp discovering their vegan bakeries.

I look forward to sharing with you in this blog post more about my foodie adventures in London, ON. I love travelling in the Spring as well because that’s when warm weather is back after the winter and travelling in the Spring I find that it is less expensive than travelling in the summer. You can still enjoy warm weather with less crowd than the summer for sure. I always prefer to travel during off seasons than high peak seasons.

I travelled by VIA Rail Train to London, ON as with my 1st Feature to Kingston, ON (click here -> Fall Getaway 2016 to Kingston, Ontario ) I mentioned why I love travelling by travel, you can check out that post for more information. Overall, for me, it’s the easiest, comfortable and relaxing way to travel from Toronto to London or to any destination within Ontario or Quebec. I have yet to travel further yet but train for me is a good option for Ontario and Quebec areas. This year I love the signage for celebrating Canada’s special “Canada 150” year on the trains.

Quick Facts on London

Some quick facts on London, Ontario for those who would to know more information on this city:

  • London is a city in Southwestern Ontario, Canada along the Quebec City-Windsor Corridor
  • London is at the confluence of the Thames River where there are trails to see the beauty of Thames River, approximately halfway between Toronto, Ontario and Detroit, Michigan
  • It is approximately 2 hours train and drive ride from Toronto
  • London is known for its culture and entertainment scene with their The historic Grand Theatre, Museum London, London Music Hall, Western Fair District and the 10,000 seat Budweiser Gardens, all located downtown. As well a city home to festivals including: Sunfest, the Home County Folk Festival, the London Fringe Theatre Festival and etc.
  • London has a number of parks to explore including Victoria Park which is located downtown London making it accessible that has lots of events and attracting an estimated 1 million visitors per year. Other major parks include Harris Park, Gibbons Park, Fanshawe Conservation Area, Springbank Park, and Westminster Ponds.

Information taken from London Tourism website (click here -> London Tourism site)

My Experience – Sightseeing

Overall, I enjoyed this small town feel in the city of London, Ontario for my mini Spring getaway. As I live in a big city in Toronto. I loved that London has a small and friendly town city feel with their downtown similar to Toronto easily accessible with shopping and variety of restaurants to choose from. I love the combination of the city life and nature surroundings in London with the Thames River and parks within the city.

With my short visit to London, I was able to visit a few of the main attractions including Covent Garden Market (which is a large market filled with fresh produce, shops, restaurants and a farmer’s market located in the heart of downtown London), Museum London, Eldon House Historic Site (located in downtown London’s oldest residence that has been preserved and maintained since 1960 and was donated to they city of London by the Harris family. It has the most beautiful gardens in the city.), Budweiser Gardens, visited a few parks including Victoria Park, Ivey Park along the Thames River, and Harris Park and of course visited a few bakery shops (details below my fave bakery shops).

There are still many more things to do and see in London, ON, which I would love to come back and visit again. I did quite a few things and visited and ate so much delicious foods and desserts in London lol…😄 in one short visit…😊 I left London feeling so full and satisfied my sweet cravings lol!! But in a good way!! It was a fun culinary foodie adventure in London and I look forward to my next visit!!

Hotel

I stayed at the Residence Inn by Marriott London Downtown hotel. It is conveniently located downtown London, Ontario on Colbourne Street at King Street making it easily accessible to the downtown core. It as only a 10 mins walk from the VIA Rail train station, which I was happy that I was able to get to the hotel by walking.

The Residence Inn London Downtown Hotel was recently renovated with a fresh, newly updated and modern bold look to the overall hotel and even the rooms. I been staying with the brand Residence Inn and Marriott and I always love their spacious rooms compared to other hotels. And this was no difference, I stayed in a 1 bedroom suite and loved how big and spacious the room was and loved the newly updated look. My bedroom was in a separate room on it’s own and love how the living room and kitchen in it’s own space. It felt cozy and right at home like a small apartment.

I loved the location of the hotel as I was able to take a bus or walk to most of the restaurants, shopping, and attractions within the hotel area. Other great features about the hotel are complimentary wifi and full American breakfast in the morning. Only negative is there was no pool in this hotel. As I love to swim especially in the evening after a day of exploring the city, that would have been nice. But I can’t complain as everything else about the hotel was exactly what I expected with a lot of great features.

The Lobby of Hotel

Most importantly, I had great customer service both at the front desk very friendly and welcoming when I first arrived and checking out along with any issues I had during my stay, which I didn’t. They were very helpful as well with any directions I needed within the downtown area.

Overall, another amazing stay with my fave brand – Marriott, this time staying at Residence Inn London Downtown. I highly recommend this hotel if you are planning a stay in London and especially great for longer stays with the spacious rooms making it feel more like home than a hotel with kitchenette, business center services available and lots of space to work.

My Fave 3 Desserts / Bakeries in London, Ontario

If you are looking for some sweet desserts shops and bakeries, I am recommending when coming to this beautiful and foodie city to satisfied your sweet cravings, you will not be disappointed. Here are my Top 3 that I recommend you checking out in London:

1. Marky’s Crepe Café

Location: 484 Richmond Street, London, ON

Website: Marky’s Crepe Cafe -> click here

Social Media: Follow them on Facebook @Markyscrepeandwaffles, Twitter @Markyscrepecafe and Instagram @Markyscrepecafe.

Looking for the best crepes and waffles in London, ON, then go to Marky’s Crepe Café is a small, cozy and friendly café offering authentic desserts to diverse taste of London’s locals known for their delicious waffles and crêpes. They also offer Panini, Sandwiches, Salads, cakes and smoothies. I love that they have vegan and gluten free options. If you are looking for a vegan option for the crêpes, they offer buckwheat crepe options, which was perfect for me as I enjoy dairyfree option now. I requested by e-mail a day in advance that I was coming and they were able to accommodate to make the vegan option for me as they don’t make it on a daily basis so if you were coming please let me them know ahead of time. Overall, a great experience at Marky’s Crepe Café, I love their small and cozy café. They have a very small selection of seats inside and now they have a patio as well. Great customer service, the staff was very friendly there and very helpful loved how patience she was with me. I ended up ordering a custom vegan crêpe with fresh mangos and strawberries and icing sugar on top. It was simply delicious!! Loved it!! If you are looking for delicious freshly made desserts esp crêpes, don’t look any further than going to Marky’s Crepe Café in London!

2. Organic Works Bakery

Location: 481 Ridout Street North, London, ON

Website: Organic Works Bakery -> click here

Social Media: Follow them on Facebook @OrganicWordsBakery, Twitter @OWBakery, and Instagram @OrganicWorksBakery.

Organic Works Bakery is a cozy and boutique organic and gluten-free bakery located at their new retail bakeshop location at Eldon House. They originally first formed in 2007 and over the years made its mark as the only certified organic, gluten free bakery with savoury treats, breads and other baked goods made in a gluten free facility. They are continuing their focus on providing healthy options to their customers.

When I visited Organic Works Bakery, the Eldon House was still under construction on the outside, but was still able to locate it. I love this rustic and cozy bakery with so many options to choose from. Great customer service by the staff as well and very helpful explaining about their products as well. It was hard for me to choose, but chose the Vanilla Raspberry Swirl cupcake and took home a few organic apple oats cookies as I love cookies so how could I resist lol!! The cupcake was moist and soft, the frosting wasn’t too sweet, it was just perfect!! I loved the cupcake!! The apple oats cookies I took them home on the train ride to have a snack and it was delicious! If you are looking for a variety of baked goods with healthy options and gluten-free, I highly recommend Organic Works Bakery.

My delicious & sweet Vanilla Raspberry Swirl cupcake in the garden

3. The Boombox Bakeshop

New Location: 520 Adelaide Street North, London, ON

Website: The Boombox Bakeshop -> click here

Social Media: Follow them on Facebook @TheBoomBoxBakeshop, Twitter @BoomBoxBakeshop, and Instagram @theboomboxbakeshop.

The Boombox Bakeshop is a vegan friendly bakery and café where they specialize in cupcakes, cakes, mini pies, cookie sandwiches and more. I was excited to visit one of my fave desserts, cupcakes esp vegan cupcakes…😋 I visited The Boombox Bakeshop on one of their last few days before moving to their new location, so please be aware that they have now officially moved into their new location, which is only a few spaces down from their original location at 520 Adelaide Street North, London, Ontario.

I loved their outside signage, very cute with bright & bold colours! Despite the moving process, inside their old bakeshop, love the unique and cozy environment with the boomboxes as decorations and a combination of the music and baking! I had the Tropical Punch cupcake and definitely felt like it was a summery cupcake filled with sweetness. The cake of the cupcake was moist and not too sweet. I look forward to my next visit to The Boombox Bakeshop to check out their new location and see what it looks like along with sampling more of their cupcakes and other baked goods. That day I had lots of yummy food and desserts before going to the bakeshop so was a bit full lol!!

It was a great Spring getaway to London, Ontario exploring a city with a combination of beautiful natural scenery and water views along with their fresh and local culinary scene focusing a bit more on the plant based cuisine. I definitely had a very foodie weekend enjoying lots of different foods and desserts / baked goods in London. I have enjoyed London’s small town atmosphere in this city setting.

If you haven’t been to London, ON before, I would definitely recommend for you to come and explore this small town atmosphere in a city setting to see what I been talking about. I can’t wait to come back to London again to further explore other parts of London and enjoy more of their local and plant based cuisine!! I always love exploring new cities and I look forward to my next foodie and travel adventure!

If you read most of this blog, thank you as I know it was a bit long, but hope you enjoyed reading about my foodie travel adventure in London, Ontario.

As summer is coming to an end, I’m enjoying what is left of summer and looking forward to more Fall food festivals coming up in September. Looking for my next sweet vegan bakeshop or restaurant to share with you….😋

-Sweet B.

For more information on London, Ontario, please see below:

Website: Tourism London Site -> click here

Website: City of London, Ontario -> click here

Social Media: You can follow Tourism London & stay up to date through

Facebook @TourismLondon, Twitter @Tourism_London, and Instagram @TourismLondon.

Hotel: Residence Inn by Marriott London Downtown -> Website -> click here

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

